Odisha, Arunachal and Sikkim untouched by Modi wave

RSTV Bureau

While the entire nation is rejoicing Narendra Modi-led BJP’s historic win, Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik remained unperturbed by the Modi wave. In a landmark win, Patnaik-led BJD returned to power with two third majority for the fourth consecutive term making him the longest serving CM in the history of Odisha.

The BJD swept the state winning 117 seats out of 147 seats while the Congress and the BJP could only secure 17 and 10 seats respectively. Patnaik led by example and defeated Congress candidate Sibaram Patra by a margin of 76,586 votes from Hinjili in Ganjam. Raising its tally by 14 seats since its last performance in 2009 assembly polls, Naveen Patnaik-led BJD braved the Modi wave in both the assembly and Lok Sabha elections with panache.

At par with its dismal performance in the national elections, the Congress suffered severe blows in Odisha and two of its top functionaries were defeated from what were considered to be Congress bastions. OPCC president Jaydev Jena lost the Anandpur Assembly constituency, while party’s chief whip Prasad Harichandan lost to an independent candidate.

Meanwhile, BJP couldn’t capitalise on the popularity of Narendra Modi and secured only 10 seats in the state.

The only glimmer of hope for the bruised and battered Congress came from Arunachal Pradesh where the grand old party came back to power winning 42 seats in the 60-member house. Chief Minister Nabam Tuki won uncontested from Sagalee constituency ensuring a second term as chief minister. Except for Tuli, ten others from the Congress won uncontested in the state.

The BJP gained marginally in the state since its performance in 2009 and secured second position winning 11 seats — an improvement of six seats. But, the party failed to cash on the Modi wave and two of the sitting BJP legislators Dr Tangor Tapak (Pasighat West) and Tapen Siga (Daporijo) lost along with many other stalwarts.

The two national parties performed poorly in Sikkim that also went to assembly polls alongside General Elections. The incumbent Sikkim Democratic Front won 22 of the 32 seats while the rest went to Sikkim Krantikari Morcha. SDF leader Pawan Kumar Chamling is set to be crowned as the chief minister for fifth term and is all set to break the record of former West Bengal chief minister Jyoti Basu who was the CM for 23 years.