Onus to run Parl session on Modi govt: Left front

RSTV Bureau

left-protest-1On the eve of Monsoon session, slated to begin on Tuesday, the Left-front held a nationwide protest and asserted that the onus to run the house smoothly rests entirely with the Central government. The Left-front, along with Congress party and other opposition parties, is demanding for a stern action on Lalit Modi issue, ‘Vyapam’ scam and other alleged scams involving BJP governments and its ministers.

“It is they (BJP) who had disrupted an entire session in 2G spectrum matter during UPA’s tenure after the Manmohan Singh government initially refused a probe. Then a Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) was formed, A Raja had to resign,” CPI (M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury said addressing the cadres in New Delhi.

Yechury also insisted that PM Modi come clean on the floor of the House.

“And he (the PM) should also assure that until the probe is over, people concerned will be removed from their posts,” Sitaram Yechury said in a reference seeking resignations of Union External Affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and CMs Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Vasundhara Raje.

The senior member of the Upper house of the Parliament also said, “It is clear that the government itself doesn’t want the House to run smoothly”.

The left leaders had taken a protest march against the BJP-led NDA government in New Delhi on Monday from Mandi House to Jantar Mantar. Several other cities with considerable presence of Left parties too witnessed a mild protest.

The Left parties also took on the NDA government on infamous admission and recruitment ‘Vyapam’ scam of Madhya Pradesh terming it as a “deadly combination of crime and corruption”.

Criticising the Prime Minister on his “silence” over the corruption charges levelled against the prominent BJP leaders, the Left leader said, “he would poke at previous Prime Minister Manmohan Singh calling him ‘Maunmohan’ Singh for not speaking up. Now the otherwise outspoken Modi, is keeping silence on the corruption charges against his Government. He has become Maunendra Modi”.