Parliament to host farewell for President Mukherjee

SansadTV Bureau

Outgoing President Pranab Mukherjee will be given a grand farewell by Parliamentarians at the Central hall of the Parliament on Sunday.


President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Minister for Finance, Corporate Affairs and Defence, Arun Jaitley during the dinner hosted by the Chiefs of Staff at Manekshaw Centre

Pranab Mukherjee, the 13th President of the country will be relinquishing office on July 24 as his five year term soon comes to an end.

The programme which will begin on Sunday evening will be addressed by Lok Sabha Speaker, Sumitra Mahajan and Vice-President of the country and Chairman, Rajya Sabha, Hamid Ansari.

Members of Parliament from both houses, including PM Narendra Modi will be in attendance at the programme.

On this occasion the President will be presented with a coffee table book and a memento. It will have signatures of Prime Minister Modi, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Speaker (Lok Sabha) Sumitra Mahajan, Deputy Speaker (Lok Sabha) Thambidurai and Deputy Chair (Rajya Sabha) PJ Kurien and all MP.

Incoming President Ram Nath Kovind will succeed Pranab Mukherjee as the 14th President of India.

Kovind convincingly defeated opposition’s Meira Kumar, a former Lok Sabha speaker, winning more than 65 percent of the votes in the Electoral College.

Ram Nath Kovind will sworn in as the 14th President of India on July 25