Pema Khandu sworn-in as CM of Arunachal Pradesh

Pema Khandu taking oath as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh. Photo: PTI

Itanagar: Congress leader Pema Khandu is sworn-in as the ninth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh by Governor Tathagata Roy at a ceremony in Itanagar on Sunday, July 17, 2016. Photo: PTI

On Sunday morning, Pema Khandu was sworn in as the ninth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh marking the culmination of fast-paced political developments in this north-eastern state.

Chowna Mein was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Son of late Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu, 37-year-old Pema, who became the youngest chief minister in the country, and Mein were administered the oath by Governor Tathagata Roy at the Raj Bhavan in Itanagar.

Hours ahead of the scheduled floor test in the Assembly on Saturday which Chief Minister Nabam Tuki was directed by the governor to take, the Congress Legislature Party had elected Pema Khandu, in place of Tuki, who was restored to the Chief Minister’s post earlier this week after the apex court verdict.

Pema then staked claim to power on the basis of the support of 45 party MLAs along with two independents.

In a volte-face, ousted chief minister Khaliko Pul, also returned to the party fold with 30 dissident MLAs.

In the 60-member House with an effective strength of 58, Congress now claims the support of 47 MLAs, including two independents.

Pema, who hails from Tawang, first entered the Arunachal Pradesh assembly in 2011 to fill the vacancy caused by his father’s death.

His election as MLA from Mukto (ST) constituency was uncontested and he was soon included in the state government as Cabinet Minister for Water Resource Development and Tourism in the Jarbom Gamlin ministry.

He also became the cabinet minister for Rual Works Department (RWD) and Tourism since November 21, 2011 in Nabam Tuki government and thereafter served the state as cabinet minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation and Art & Culture.

He was re-inducted as the Urban Development Minister on June 1 2014 in the Nabam Tuki government after the general election.

He quit as minister in October last year and sided with dissident Kalikho Pul.