Phase 3 Assembly Polls: 17 constituencies in Jharkhand to vote on Thursday


File photo: Polling photo (PTI Photo)

File photo: Polling photo (PTI Photo)

17 constituencies spread over eight districts will go to polls in the third phase polling of Jharkhand Assembly elections on Thursday. The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Jharkhand Vinay Kumar Choubey told media persons in Ranchi that more than 56 lakh people can cast their vote during this phase.

For this purpose, 7,016 polling booths have been set up in poll-bound constituencies of Ranchi, Ramgarh, Hazaribagh, Koderma, Chatra, Giridih and Saraikela-Kharsawan districts.

Polling would start at 7.00 A.M. tomorrow and will end at 3 P.M. in 12 Assembly segments due to security reasons.

In the remaining five constituencies of Ranchi, Hatia, Kanke, Ramgarh and Barkattha polling will continue till 5.00 P.M.

He further said, more than 40,000 polling personnel have been deployed for smooth polling process.

The adequate number of security personnel including Central Para Military Forces and District Police have been deployed to ensure free, fair and peaceful elections.

In this phase, a total of 309 candidates including 32 women are in the fray.

BJP has fielded 16 candidates this time while Jharkhand Vikas Morcha and the alliance of the Congress-Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) are together contesting on all 17 seats.

All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) is contesting on 14, BSP on 15 and CPI has fielded nine candidates. Besides this, 99 independent candidates are also in the fray.

State Cabinet Ministers CP Singh and Neera Yadav, AJSU Party Chief Sudesh Mahto, JVM President Babu Lal Marandi, former State Minister and trade union leader Rajendra Prasad Singh, former Chairperson of State Women Commission Mahua Maji are among the prominent candidates in the fray.