PM to UP voters: Punish Cong, SP and BSP for neglecting state

SansadTV Bureau
Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses an election campaign rally in Gonda district on 24 February 2017.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing an election campaign rally in Gonda district on 24 February 2017.

While addressing a rally in Mau in Uttar Pradesh, Prime Minister Narendra Modi attacked the ruling Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party.

The Prime Minister urged the crowds to punish both SP and BSP in the upcoming polls. Mau goes to polls in the 6th phase along with 48 other constituencies.

“Punish Congress, SP and BSP for neglecting UP for years,” PM Modi urged the voters.

He also called the Congress-Samajwadi Party alliance a “sinking ship”.

PM Modi also hit out against his political opponents for allegedly working towards a fractured mandate.

“The SP and the BSP, after the third phase of polling, have realised that they have no chance of winning and so they have launched a new game, a new technique…even if we are defeated or our seats decrease, no one should get majority,” PM Modi alleged.

“You (SP, BSP) might be thinking that in case of a hung House, you will get a chance to bargain but the people of UP have shown you in the Lok Sabha polls, by ensuring a full majority to BJP, and in these elections, they will ensure that BJP wins with a huge margin,” he added.

Challenging his rivals in his hour-long speech, PM Modi said, “I want to tell the leaders of the SP and the BSP to try whatever means they can to defeat the BJP, there is no problem with it…but do not play with the future of UP. It has suffered a lot in the past.”

He pointed out out that his party believes in taking its allies along even if it got full majority on its own.

The PM promised all its alliance partners will be made part of BJP government in UP even if, the BJP manages to get a full majority on its own.

The ongoing Assembly polls in UP are being held in seven phases. Campaigning is still on for the last two phases (phase 6 and 7) which are scheduled to go to polls on March 4 and March 8.