PM Modi, Sonia pay tribute to Parliament attack martyrs

SansadTV Bureau
PM Parliament attack tribute

New Delhi: PM Narendra Modi paying tributes to the martyrs of 2001 Parliament attack on its 14th anniversary, at Parliament House in New Delhi on Sunday. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh also seen in the picture. PTI Photo

On the 14th anniversary of the Parliament attack, several MPs including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress President Sonia Gandhi paid tribute to the martyrs of the deadly attack.

PM Modi also met some of the family members of the martyrs. The ceremony was held inside the Parliament complex on Sunday morning. The Parliamentarians paid floral tributes and observed silence in the honour of those who died.

On December 13, 2001, 5 heavily-armed gunmen stormed the Parliament complex and opened fire, killing nine people. The martyrs included five Delhi Police personnel, a woman CRPF (Central Reserve Police Force) official, two Parliament watch and ward staff, and a gardener.

After the tribute, Home Minister Rajnath Singh spoke about the NDA government’s zero tolerance policy towards terrorism.

“Our government has adopted a zero tolerance policy against terrorism. We are committed to make India more secure and safe as a nation,”said Singh as he paid homage to the Parliament attack victims.

“I salute the valour and courage exhibited by those brave security personnel. The nation will never forget their supreme sacrifice,” Singh added.

Parliament attack tribute 1

New Delhi: PM Narendra Modi, former PM Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Congress President Sonia Gandhi and other dignitaries during the tribute paying ceremony to the martyrs of 2001 Parliament attack on its 14th anniversary, at Parliament House in New Delhi on Sunday. PTI Photo

Several other MPs were also present at the ceremony to commemorate the victims. Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, former PM Manmohan Singh, veteran BJP leader LK Advani, Minority Affairs Minister Najma Heptulla, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha PJ Kurien, Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma, were all present at the ceremony to pay their homage.

On Friday, before the start of the day’s business, both Houses of the Parlaiment paid tribute to the martyrs. Members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha stood in silence on the floor of the House to pay homage to the victims and reiterated their resolve to combat the “macabre” designs of the perpetrators of terrorism.

“Let us reiterate our resolve to combat the macabre designs of the perpetrators of terrorism and reaffirm our pledge to protect the unity, integrity and sovereignty of our motherland,” Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said while paying her respects.

“On this day, we recall the supreme sacrifice of our security personnel .. who laid down their life while preventing the entry of terrorists,” Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari said in the Upper House on Friday.

(With inputs from PTI)