Polling for 13 seats ends in Jharkhand

RSTV Bureau

jharkhan-electionA total of 61.92 per cent votes were cast in the first phase of polls in 13 of the 81 assembly seats in Jharkhand amidst sporadic incidents of damage to EVMs.

“The percentage (of votes) could be updated later,” an official with the Election Commission  said.

Palamau returning officer K N Jha said EVM machines at booth numbers 191 and 192 in Chhatarpur constituency were damaged in a minor altercation following which polling in the two booths has been cancelled.

Polling passed off peacefully in the rest of the Maoist- affected constituencies, EC sources said.

The constituencies which went to polls are Chatra (SC), Gumla (ST), Bishunpur (ST), Lohardaga (ST), Manika (ST), Latehar (SC), Panki and Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur (SC), Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur.

The second phase polling for 20 seats will be held on December 2.

Polling for the third phase for 17 seats is slated for December 9, the fourth for 15 seats on December 14 and the fifth and final phase for 16 seats will be held on December 20.

Counting is on December 23.

This is the third assembly election after Jharkhand was carved out from Bihar on November 15, 2000.