Polling ends for Delhi assembly elections

SansadTV Bureau

delhi_voterThe high profile assembly elections in Delhi for 70 member seats ended peacefully on Saturday. The polling officially began early in the morning 8 AM and continued till 6 PM in the evening. But the Commission said all those who entered the booth premises before 6 PM will be able to vote. A tight security had been deployed at the polling stations to maintain law and order.

Out of 70 seats on which polling took place today, 12 seats were reserved for SCs. The None of the Above (NOTA) option was also available for the voters in this election.

An estimated 63.46 per cent voters exercised their franchise till 5 PM and Election Commission officials said voter turnout may break the record of 2013 assembly polls.

A total of 673 candidates contested for the polls. The Burari constituency in North Delhi has a maximum of 18 candidates while the Ambedkar Nagar seat in South Delhi has the lowest number of contenders at four.

63 women candidates contested in this election as against 71 in 2013.

The number of candidates from recognised national and state parties is 296 while 183 candidates belong to registered parties and there are 194 Independent nominees.

The total electorate in Delhi stands at 1,33,09,078 — 73,89,089 men; 59,19,127 women; and 862 belonging to the third gender.

There are 2,27,316 voters in the age group of 18 to 19 years, 36,93,975 in the age group of 20 to 29 years, while 311 electors are above 100 years old.

The Matia Mahal constituency has the largest number of electorate at 3,47,245 and Chandni Chowk the lowest at 1,13,777.

In 2013 assembly polls, the overall voting percentage was 66 which was an increase of around 9 per cent from 57.58 per cent in 2008.

In this election, the fight is mainly between AAP and BJP for first slot first, while the Congress is out of the race.

The BJP, which is out of power in Delhi for the last 16 years, made a gamble by bringing in former Team Anna member Kiran Bedi into the party and made her its Chief Ministerial candidate.

The main star campaigners in Delhi’s elections were: PM Narendra Modi, Arvind Kejriwal, Amit Shah, Kiran Bedi, Mayawati and others.

In 2013 assembly polls, the overall voting percentage was 66 which was an increase of around 9 per cent from 57.58 per cent in 2008.

Counting of votes will be on 10th February.