President Kovind appoints five new governors

RSTV Bureau

President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday appointed five new governors of the states of Tamil Nadu, Assam, Bihar, Meghalaya and Arunachal Pradesh.

Ram-Nath-KovindBanwarilal Purohit has been appointed governor of Tamil Nadu. Maharashtra governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao had additional charge of Tamil Nadu since Mr Rosaiah’s retirement.

Brigadier (Retd) B D Mishra has been appointed governor of Arunachal Pradesh and Ganga Prasad is governor of Meghalaya. Ganga Prasad was part of new nation executive of BJP after Amit Shah took over as BJP President. He has been a member of Bihar’s legislative council for 18-years.


Professor Jagdish Mukhi will be governor of Assam and Satyapal Malik governor of Bihar.

Vacancy arose in Bihar Raj Bhavan after its former occupant Mr Ram Nath Kovind was elected as President of India. His sucessor 71-year-old Mr Malik was Minister of state in 1990s and is a three term Parliamentarian.

Former Navy Chief Admiral D K Joshi has been appointed as Lt Governor of Andamans and Nicobar.