President Kovind nominates four members to Rajya Sabha

RSTV Bureau
File Photo of Rajya Sabha

File Photo of Rajya Sabha

President Ram Nath Kovind, on Saturday, made four nominations to Rajya Sabha in the exercise of powers conferred by Article 80 of the Constitution of India and on the Prime Minister’s advice.

Former MP Ram Shakal, ideologue Rakesh Sinha, classical dancer Sonal Mansingh and stone artist Raghunath Mohapatra were nominated to the Upper House.

Ram Shakal is a farmer leader and three time member of Parliament from Robertsganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

“He is an eminent public leader and representative from Uttar Pradesh and devoted his life for the welfare and well-being of the Dalit community. He is widely respected for championing the cause of farmers, labourers and migrants,” said a PMO statement.

Rakesh Sinha is the founder and honorary director of the Delhi-based think-tank “India Public Foundation”. He is a respected and widely read author and also a professor of Motilal Nehru College of Delhi University. He is the current member of India Council of Social Science Research.

Internationally renowned architect and sculptor on stone carving from Odisha, Raghunath Mohapatara is the recipient of Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan. He is widely known for his contribution to preservation of traditional sculpture and ancient monuments. He has also worked on the beautification of Shri Jagannath Temple, Puri. His famous works include a 6-feet-high statue of the Sun God carved in grey sandstone, in the Central Hall of Parliament and the Wooden Buddha, Buddha Temple, Paris.

Padma Vibhushan recipient Sonal Mansingh is an acclaimed Indian classical dancer. She has been performing Bharatnatyam and Odissi forms of dance for over six decades. She is the founder of the Centre for Indian Classical Dances, in Delhi in 1977.

Article 80(1)(a) read with Article 80(3) of the constitution of India provides that the President can nominate  to Rajya Sabha, 12 persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of literature, science, art and social service. There were currently 8 nominated members in Rajya Sabha and hence, four vacancies.