Rajya Sabha adjourned till 2 pm amid protests over NPR, CAA

SansadTV Bureau
Rajya Sabha, File Photo

Rajya Sabha, File Photo

Rajya Sabha proceedings were on Monday adjourned for the second time till 2 pm after unrelenting opposition members sought a debate on the issue of NPR and the amended citizenship law.

Earlier, Rajya Sabha proceedings were adjourned for close to an hour after opposition parties sought to raise the issue of NPR and amended citizenship law.

Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu first disallowed notices given by several opposition members, saying that the members will get enough opportunity to raise the issue during a discussion on the Motion of Thanks on the President’s Address to the joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament.

The President’s address had specific mention of the amended citizenship law and it can be discussed during the debate on the Motion of Thanks, he said.

However, Satish Chandra Mishra of the BSP, Derek O’Brien of the TMC, T K Rangarajan of the CPM and other opposition members rose to speak on it.

Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu cut them short, saying he has already given a ruling on adjournment notices and cannot allow them to speak now.

As other opposition members joined them, Chairman Naidu adjourned proceedings.

Earlier, Chairman Naidu said he had received notices from leaders such as Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma of Congress, TMC leader O’Brien, Binoy Viswam of the CPI and others under Rule 267 seeking setting aside of the business of the day to take up discussion on issues related to NPR and Citizenship Amendment Act.

Also, call attention notice has been received from Subramanian Swamy on related issue.

He, however, said members could raise the issue during the Motion of Thanks on the President’s Address.

Earlier when the House met for the day, Chairman Naidu read out an obituary reference on the passing away of Sultan of Oman Qaboos Bin Said Al Said and also on the death of 29 people and animals in Australia’s bushfires.

Members stood in silence as a mark of respect to departed souls.

M Venkaiah Naidu also mentioned sitting member MC Mary Kom being awarded the Padma Vibhushan, saying she is the first woman spokesperson of the country to be decorated with the award.

He also mentioned the award being conferred on former members Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, George Fernandes and Manohar Parrikar.