Puducherry: INC candidates selection tomorrow

SansadTV Bureau
Puducherry Assembly

Puducherry Assembly

The Congress party in Puducherry is scheduled to hold interviews of those seeking party tickets to contest the May 16 assembly elections on March 26 and 27. Congress candidate selection comes a day after Congress and DMK met to discuss seat share and failed to come to conclusion.

“Aspirants for party tickets in Puducherry and Karaikal regions which account for 28 of the total 30 assembly seats will be interviewed,” said PCC President A.Namassivayam in a release.

Congress sources in the Union Territory said that seat sharing between Congress and DMK for the 30-member union territory assembly will be taken after talks by the AICC leaders with Karunanidhi get finality.

After parting ways in 2013 over the Sri Lankan Tamils issue, old allies DMK and Congress came together in February to face the May 16 Assembly polls in Puducherry.

Congress suffered a setback after present Chief Minister Rangasamy left the party and launched new party All India NR Congress (AINRC) in 2011.

N Rangaswamy, Chief Minister Puducherry

N Rangaswamy, Chief Minister Puducherry

AINRC formed an alliance with AIADMK and managed to win 15 seats in 2011 Assembly Polls.  On falling by one seat Rangasamy took the support of an independent MLA V.M.C. Sivakumar and left AIADMK in the lurch.

Of the 30 seats in the Assembly, ruling AINRC has 15, Congress 7, AIADMK 5 and DMK 2 along with one independent candidate.

Puducherry is divided in four regions of which Puducherry and Karaikal account for 28 seats where as Mahe and Yanam regions have one seat each.

The ruling AINRC and AIADMK have not yet finalised their candidates list and are non committal on their alliances. Presently Rangasamy’s AINRC is part of the BJP-led NDA alliance.

Election Commission will issue notification for the Assembly polls on April 22 and on May 16 all the 30 seats will go to polls.