Quitting NDA, TDP gives notice for moving no-confidence motion against govt

RSTV Bureau


The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has quit the NDA fold, a week after its ministers resigned from the Narendra Modi government following the Centre’s refusal to grant Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh. Withdrawing from the council of ministers last week, the party chief N Chandrababu Naidu had then said that they will continue in the NDA.

The party on Friday also gave the notice to move no-confidence motion against the Modi government in Lok Sabha. The motion, however, could not be taken up today due to protest in Lok Sabha. The house is adjourned till Monday.

TDP leader Thota Narasimham said, “We go according to principles. Our leader felt being part of NDA and moving a no-confidence motion would not be ethical. So we withdrew from the NDA and I have issued a letter on no-confidence motion to the speaker at 9.30 am,”

Union ministers — P Ashok Gajapati Raju and Y S Chowdary — had quit on March 8 after a meeting with the prime minister.

This morning, the TDP politburo unanimously took the decision during a tele-conference with party supremo and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu this morning. The Telugu Desam Parliamentary Party will issue a notice to move the no-trust motion today, it said.

New Delhi: TDP leaders Y S Chowdary and Ashok Gajapathi Raju address a press in New Delhi, March 8, 2018. PTI

New Delhi: TDP leaders Y S Chowdary and Ashok Gajapathi Raju address a press in New Delhi, March 8, 2018.

The party politburo meeting to decide over quitting the NDA was planned for this evening, but the formality was completed during the daily tele-conference Chandrababu holds with party leaders in the morning.

The TDP will write a letter to BJP president Amit Shah and also other constituents of the NDA informing its decision and the reasons for it, the communique said.

In a related development, the YSR Congress on Thursday gave a notice for moving a no-confidence motion against the BJP-led NDA after the Centre’s decision to not grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

YSR Congress party reached out to various political parties including the Congress and the Left seeking their support for the no-confidence motion.

(With inputs from PTI)