Raghubar Das to be first non-tribal CM of Jharkhand

RSTV Bureau

raghuwar_dasRaghubar Das, National Vice-President of BJP will be the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand. He was elected the leader of Bharatiya Janata Party Legislative Party on Friday.

The declaration was made by BJP general secretary and union health minister JP Nadda, who was one of the two party’s observer in the state.

BJP observer J P Nadda said after the legislature party meeting that Das’ name was proposed by Sarayu Roy, another front-runner for the post and C P Singh and supported by all the party MLAs.

BJP officially announced the name of Raghvar Das after he was selected as the leader of the BJP legislative party in a meeting of newly-elected MLAs in Ranchi.

He held the office of Deputy Chief Minister of Jharkhand  from 30th December 2009 to 29th May 2010. Raghuvar Das is the four-time BJP MLA from Jamshedpur East since 1995 and also the Urban Development Minister during the NDA government in the state.

Former chief minister Arjun Munda said that Das will stake claim to form the BJP-AJSU party government.

BJP-AJSU alliance had won absolute majority in the recent assembly polls bagging 42 out of the total 81 seats.

Raghuvar Das stakes claim to form govt in Jharkhand

Newly elected BJP Legislature Party leader Raghuvar Das today staked claim to form the new government in Jharkhand, three days after the BJP-AJSU party alliance won a majority in the assembly election.

Accompanied by several MLAs of the alliance partners, Das met with Governor Syed Ahmed and staked claim to form the next government.

AJSU party chief Sudesh Mahto, who lost the elections, was also part of the delegation.