Rajya Sabha bids farewell to 53 MP’s & adjourns sine die

SansadTV Bureau
Rajya Sabha Chairman Md. Hamid Ansari  addressing the Upper House on May 13, 2016.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Md. Hamid Ansari addressing the Upper House while bidding farewell to retiring members.

The upper house of the parliament completed its proceedings on Friday. Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari announced the house as sine die after the house bid farewell to 53 retiring members after their term expired.

Soon after the proceedings began, the Chairman announced that he has accepted the resignation of Nominated member Pranav Pandya.

“I have accepted his resignation with effect from May 11, 2016,” the Chairman said.

Pandya had turned down the Rajya Sabha nomination saying he believed he can serve and impact people and politics better by staying away from the Upper House.

later the house allotted full day to talk about the contributions of retiring members whose tenure will end in the months of June and July.

“Parting is painful and it is more when it involves a colleague and a friend or a member of the fraternity. The solace is that life and public life is a continuum and parting today will be a reunion tomorrow in the same surroundings,” said the Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari.

Initiating the speeches of retiring members, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that retiring members have worked with two governments and have contributed allot through debates and discussion.

“ It is one house, where we can bid farewell and welcome the same persons….this facility is not there in Lok Sabha,” said the Prime Minister

53 Members from the states of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Chhattisgarh ,Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Odisha, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh ,Uttara Khand ,Bihar and Jharkhand  compete their term of office in June and July.

PM Narendra Modi speaking in Rajya Sabha on May 13, 2016.

PM Narendra Modi speaking in Rajya Sabha on May 13, 2016.

Election Commission has already announced that biennial elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats, including the one vacated by liquor baron Vijay Mallya, will be held on June 11.

The elections have been necessitated as 55 members from 15 states are retiring between June and August. One seat each from Rajasthan and Karnataka vacated by Anand Sharma and Vijay Mallya will also go for polls.

Out of the total 57 seats, a majority of 14 each belong to BJP and Congress. While six members belong to BSP, five are from JD (U), three each from SP, BJD and AIADMK.

Two members each belong to DMK, NCP and TDP, while one member belongs to Shiv Sena. Among the prominent members retiring are Union ministers

M Venkaiah Naidu, Birender Singh, Suresh Prabhu, Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, former minister Jairam Ramesh, JD (U) leader Sharad Yadav and senior lawyer Ram Jethmalani.