Rajya Sabha Budget Session begins, PM Modi introduces Council of Ministers

SansadTV Bureau
Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu (Rajya Sabha TV grab)

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu (Rajya Sabha TV grab)

Rajya Sabha Session 249 commenced today half an hour after President Ram Nath Kovind’s Joint sitting of both houses of the Parliament.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi introduced the Council of Minister to the Upper House. The house was later adjourned till 11 am on June 21, 2019.

The session will continue till July 26th. During this period, the Upper House will have 27 sittings.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu has called a meeting of floor leaders of the House today. He will meet them over lunch at his residence.

Ahead of the session, the government has appealed to members to help in the passage of crucial Bills.

As many as 33 bills are pending in the Rajya Sabha after the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha. The government is looking to pass these Bills in this session.

Bills that are introduced in Rajya Sabha and are pending there do not lapse with the dissolution of Lok Sabha. However, Bills passed by Lok Sabha and pending in the Rajya Sabha lapse.

(With inputs from PTI)