Rajya Sabha election results: Who won, who lost

Anamika Pandey
File photo: RAJYA SABHA

File photo: RAJYA SABHA

Elections for 19 Rajya Sabha seats were held on June 19 across eight States. Of the 19 seats where polling was held, four each are from Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, two from Jharkhand, and one each from Manipur, Mizoram and Meghalaya


The ruling Congress in Rajasthan won two Rajya Sabha seats, while the opposition BJP got one in elections held in the State on Friday.

K. C. Venugopal and Neeraj Dangi of the Congress were declared winner, while Rajendra Gehlot of the BJP also got elected, an assembly spokesperson said.

With this, the number of Congress party’s Rajya Sabha MPs from Rajasthan has increased to three, out of a total of 10. The rest seven are BJP members.


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday won two Rajya Sabha seats from Madhya Pradesh, while the Congress bagged one.

Jyotiraditya Scindia, who switched over to the BJP in March, won 56 votes. Whereas, the BJP’s other candidate Sumer Singh Solanki secured 55 votes and Congressman Digvijaya Singh got 57.


Three BJP candidates Narhari Amin, Abhay Bhardwaj and Ramila Bara alongwith Congress’s Shaktisinh Gohil were declared winners of the election to four Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat. Congress’ 2nd candidate Bharatsinh Solanki failed to garner the support of the requisite number of votes.

The counting was delayed due to objections raised by the Congress which demanded that votes cast by two BJP MLAs be invalidated. The Election Commission of India rejected the demand, upholding the report given by the election observer.


JMM supremo Shibu Soren and BJP State unit president Deepak Prakash on Friday won the two Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand, an Election Commission official said.

Deepak Prakash secured 31 votes, while Soren, a former Chief Minister, won 30.

Congress candidate Shahzada Anwar finished third by bagging 18 votes, the official said.

This will be Shibu Soren’s third term as a Rajya Sabha member. Shibu Soren, whose Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) now governs Jharkhand, had also served as a Union minister.

It will be Deepak Prakash’s maiden term in the Upper House of Parliament.


The ruling YSR Congress bagged all the four Rajya Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh in the biennial election held on Friday as expected.

According to Legislature sources, Deputy Chief Minister Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose, Minister Mopidevi Venkata Ramana, industrialist Parimal Nathwani and realtor Ayodhya Rami Reddy of the YSRC were elected with 38 votes each.

The opposition Telugu Desam Party, which had forced the contest despite not having the numbers, lost badly, with its nominee Varla Ramaiah polling only 17 votes against its technical strength of 23 in the assembly


In the northeastern states, BJP ensured the victory of its candidate Leisemba Sanajaoba, the titular king of Manipur, to the Rajya Sabha.

BJP candidate for the lone Rajya Sabha seat, Leishema Sanajaoba, the titular king received 28 of the 52 votes polled on Friday. Congress’ T. Mangibabu got 24 votes even as the party on Thursday claimed the support of 26 MLAs.

In Meghalaya, National Peoples’ Party candidate Wanweiroy Kharlukhi won the lone seat while Mizo National Front candidate K Kanlalvena emerged victorious from Mizoram.


Name Party State
Jyotiraditya Scindia BJP Madhya Pradesh
Sumer Singh Solanki BJP Madhya Pradesh
Digvijaya Singh Congress Madhya Pradesh
Narhari Amin BJP Gujarat
Abhay Bhardwaj BJP Gujarat
Ramila Bara BJP Gujarat
Shaktisinh Gohil Congress Gujarat
Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose YSRCP Andhra Pradesh
Mopidevi Venkata Ramana Rao YSRCP Andhra Pradesh
A Ayodhya Rami Reddy YSRCP Andhra Pradesh
Parimal Nathwani YSRCP Andhra Pradesh
Leisemba Sanajaoba BJP Manipur
K Vanlalvena MNF Mizoram
WR Kharlukhi NPP Meghalaya
Shibu Soren JMM Jharkhand
Deepak Prakash BJP Jharkhand
KC Venugopal Congress Rajasthan
Neeraj Dangi Congress Rajasthan
Rajendra Gehlot BJP Rajasthan