Rajya Sabha Elections 2020: Last day for nominations ended

RSTV Bureau
File photo: RAJYA SABHA

File photo: RAJYA SABHA

Elections to 18 Rajya Sabha seats, which were postponed due to the novel coronavirus outbreak earlier this year, are set to be held on June 19.

Of these 18 seats, Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh have four vacant seats to be filled. Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh have three seats each. While Jharkhand has two seats up for polls, Manipur and Meghalaya have one seat each for which elections would be held.


A total of five candidates, including former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda and veteran Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge have filed their nominations for four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka, that goes to the polls on June 19. 

Tuesday was the last day to file nominations for the biennial elections for the Rajya Sabha, to be elected by members of the state legislative assembly. 

While JD(S) and Congress have fielded political heavyweights H D Deve Gowda and Mallikarjun Kharge, the ruling BJP has given tickets to two low profile party workers Iranna Kadadi and Ashok Gasti.

Sangamesh Chikkanaragunda, an independent candidate, has also filed his nomination. 

While Kharge had submitted his papers on Monday, Gowda, two BJP and the independent candidate filed their nominations on Tuesday. 

Scrutiny of nominations will take place on Wednesday and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 12. 

Election is scheduled on June 19 to fill four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka, represented by Rajeev Gowda and B K Hariprasad of Congress, Prabhakar Kore of BJP and D Kupendra Reddy of JD(S) that will fall vacant on June 25, with their retirement.

A minimum of 45 votes are required for a candidate to win.


The BJP has fielded Jyotiraditya Scindia and Sumer Singh Solanki as its candidates while the Congress has given the nomination to Digvijaya Singh and Phool Singh Baraiya.

At present, the MP assembly has a strength of 206 with 24 seats lying vacant. Given the numbers, a candidate needs 53 votes to win the seat. Congress has 92 MLAs in the House while the BJP has 107. Four seats are held by independents, two by the BSP and one by the SP.

The Congress would need 106 votes to win the second seat which in other words means 14 more votes than what it has. Even if it does get the votes of 7 MLAs that had been supporting it from outside, it still needs 7 more votes.


In Gujarat the BJP has nominated Abhay Bhardwaj, an eminent lawyer from Rajkot, and Ramilaben Bara, a former government official and tribal from Sabarkantha. The party’s additional candidate is Narhari Amin, a former Congress veteran.

The Congress has nominated its National Spokesperson Shaktisinh Gohil and former union minister Bharatsinh Solanki.


Whereas in Arunachal Pradesh with only a single nomination filed for the lone Rajya Sabha seat till Tuesday, the last date for doing so, BJP nominee Nabam Rebia appears all set to be elected to it.

Nabam Rebia is the lone candidate in the state to file his nomination for the Rajya Sabha election slated for June 19, Joint Chief Electoral Officer D J Bhattacharjee said.

He had filed his papers on Monday after the BJP central election committee nominated him as its candidate the day before.

Nabam Rebia will be declared the winner without any election if he does not withdraw his nomination within the stipulated time, said the state legislative assembly secretary K Habung, who has been appointed the returning officer by the Election Commission.


In Jharkhand out of two seats JMM patriarch Shibu Soren is likely to enter the Upper House of Parliament unopposed. But, the main fight is for second seat as both BJP and Congress are claiming magical numbers behind them.

For second seat, BJP has pitted its State president and old war horse Deepak Prakash, while standing against Prakash is Congress Shahzada Anwar.