Rajya Sabha members can now speak in all languages

RSTV Bureau
FILE: Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu. PTI

FILE: Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu.

From the Monsoon Session of Parliament beginning on the 18th of this month, members of Rajya Sabha can speak in any of the 22 Scheduled languages with the Secretariat arranging simultaneous interpretation facility for five more languages viz., Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, Santhali and Sindhi.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu, soon after assuming office assured that necessary measures would be taken to enable the members speak in any of the 22 languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution saying that speaking in mother tongue enables better expression of thoughts. In pursuance of this assurance, Rajya Sabha Secretariat has made special efforts to identify, select and train interpreters in these five languages.

Conveying his sense of importance for promoting the use of mother tongue, Chairman of Rajya Sabha Venkaiah Naidu himself inducted the panel of new interpreters on July 10, 2018 by awarding them certificates of completion of training and eligibility.

Speaking at the occasion, Naidu said “I have always felt that mother tongue is the natural medium to convey our feelings and thoughts without any retention. In a multilingual city such as the Parliament, members must not feel handicapped or inferior to others due to language constraints. That’s why I was keen to have simultaneous interpretation facility for all the 22 scheduled languages. I am glad this is becoming a reality from the coming Monsoon Session of Parliament.”

Of the 22 scheduled languages, Rajya Sabha has earlier established Simultaneous Interpretation Service for 12 languages viz., Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu. For five languages viz., Bodo, Maithili, Manipuri, Marathi and Nepali, interpreters of Lok Sabha are being deployed.

To overcome the difficulty in identifying suitable candidates for simultaneous interpretation of Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, Santhali and Sindhi, the Rajya Sabha Secretariat has taken the help of language departments of Universities, missions of respective states in Delhi and various welfare associations to identify persons well conversant in these languages.