RS Chairman inducts interpreters for 5 more scheduled languages

SansadTV Bureau


Starting from this Monsoon Session of Parliament, the Rajya Sabha members will be able to speak in the House in any of the 22 Indian languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution. Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu initiated the measure, very much in line with his exhortation to members to speak and express their view points in their regional language or mother tongue.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman assured that all necessary measures will be taken to enable members to speak in any of the 22 languages in the Upper House.

Addressing the National People’s Representatives Conference on March 11th, 2018, Naidu conveyed the keen interest he is taking in promoting the use of mother tongue in the Upper House.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman disclosed that he had himself inducted the panel of new interpreters by awarding them certificates of completion of training and eligibility. With this, the Upper House now has the provision of simultaneous interpretation in five more languages – Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, Santhali and Sindhi, alongside the existing 18 Indian languages.

The Chairman said in a multilingual setting like Parliament, members must not feel handicapped or inferior to others due to language constraints.

The task of making arrangements for all the 22 Indian languages in the Upper House wasn’t an easy one. The Rajya Sabha Secretariat, under the leadership of Secretary General Desh Deepak Verma, arranged for simultaneous interpretation facility.

To overcome the difficulty in identifying suitable candidates the Secretariat has taken help from civil society members.

This decision will help in increasing the linguistic diversity of the country and also among the members of the House.

Of the 22 scheduled languages, Rajya Sabha had earlier established simultaneous Interpretation Service for 12 languages including Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

For five languages viz., Bodo, Maithili, Manipuri, Marathi and Nepali, interpreters of Lok Sabha are being deployed.

Members of Parliament hailed the Rajya Sabha’s decision to promote linguistic diversity among its members by allowing them to speak in any of the 22 scheduled languages. The measure they said will help create awareness among people about the linguistic diversity of the country.