RS Chairman sets in motion process of election of Dy Chairman

RSTV Bureau
New Delhi: A scene in the Rajya Sabha during Parliament session.  PTI

New Delhi: A scene in the Rajya Sabha during Parliament session.

Chairman of Rajya Sabha M Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday set in motion the process of election of Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha. As per the convention, he called Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Ananth Kumar and discussed procedures to be followed and precedents regarding the election of Dy. Chairman.

The office of Dy. Chairman of Rajya Sabha will fall vacant on July 2, 2018 on the expiry of the tenure of PJ Kurien as a Member of Rajya Sabha a day before.

As per Rule 7 (1) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States, the Chairman of Rajya Sabha will fix the date of election which is to be informed to every Member. As per convention, Chairman of Rajya Sabha decides the schedule of election in consultation with the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.

As per the election schedule, the Notices for the election received are arranged in order of point of time of their receipt and included in the List of Business for the day, on which election has been scheduled.

As per the procedure prescribed in Sub-Rules 2, 3 and 4 of Rule 7 of the Rules of Procedure, any Member may give notice in writing addressed to the Secretary General, before noon on the day before the election date, of a motion that another member may be chosen as Dy. Chairman.

This notice shall be accompanied by a statement by the Member whose name is proposed in the notice that he is willing to serve as Dy. Chairman, if elected.

The motions which have been moved and duly seconded will be put one by one in the order in which they have been moved and decided if necessary by division. If any motion is carried, that member mentioned in such motion will be declared as the Dy. Chairman. Remaining motions will not be taken up.

Prof. PJ Kurien was elected as Dy. Chairman of Rajya Sabha on August 21, 2012. Secretary General of Rajya Sabha Desh Dipak Verma also participated in the discussions.