Ruling TDP wins prestigious bypoll in Nandyal

Raj Kamal Rao

Ruling Telugu Desam Party in Andhra Pradesh won the crucial Assembly By-election for the Nandyal seat, defeating the YSR Congress by a huge margin.

Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandra Babu Naidu

Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandra Babu Naidu

TDP’s candidate Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy defeated YSRCP’s Shilpa Mohan Reddy by 27,466 votes.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Brahmananda Reddy for his victory in the crucial poll.

It was also a prestige battle for YSRCP Chief Jaganmohan Reddy as his party had won the seat previously, but the candidate defected and moved to the TDP.

The battle was also crucial one for the TDP-BJP combine ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections since Nandyal had been a-YSR Congress stronghold.

YSR Congress president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy

YSR Congress president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy

The by-poll was necessitated after the death of Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who had quit the YSR Congress party to join the ruling TDP last year. Along with Bhuma Reddy, 19 other MLAs had also defected to the TDP.

TDP fielded Bhuma Reddy’s nephew Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy to win sympathy votes, which proved to be right for the party on Monday.

The contest witnessed high-voltage and an acrimonious campaign led by Chief Minister and TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu and YSR Congress chief Jagan Mohan Reddy.

During the campaign for Nandyal by-poll on August 3, Jagan Reddy had said, “There is nothing wrong if Chandrababu Naidu is shot dead on the road for not fulfilling election promises.”

Later Jagan Reddy received a stern warning from the State Election Commission for his comments.

A case was also registered under Sections 188, 504, 506 and under Public Representation Act 125 for violating the Model Code of Conduct.

“Using abusive and provocative language, which has the effect of inciting violence during election speech, amounts to violation of model code of conduct,” the EC said in a statement.