Rupani to continue as Gujarat CM, Nitin Patel his deputy

RSTV Bureau
Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani

Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani

Vijay Rupani will remain the Chief Minister of Gujarat. Nitin Patel too will continue in his role as his deputy. Newly elected BJP MLAs of Gujarat met in Gandhinagar today to choose the next chief minister for the state.

Central observers — Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and party general secretary Saroj Pandey – were present at the deliberations. State BJP incharge Bhupender Yadav and co-in-charge V Satish also attended the meet.

Vijay Rupani and members of his council of ministers resigned on Thursday. However, Rupani, was asked to continue as caretaker chief minister till a new govt is sworn in.

BJP had won 99 seats in the Gujarat, a climb-down from its previous tally of 115 in 2012 assembly polls. While BJP retained power, Congress bagged 77 improving its tally. Six seats were won by others.