Sher Bahadur Deuba takes oath as Nepal’s Prime Minister

RSTV Bureau

Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba has taken the oath of prime minister of Nepal. President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Deuba at Rashtrpati Bhawan in Kathmandu a short while ago.

Nepal-PMSeven other ministers including three Deputy Prime Ministers have also taken the oath. 70 year old Deuba is the 40th prime minister of Nepal.

The veteran Nepali Congress leader has taken the charge of prime minister for the fourth time. Deuba first became PM in 1995 and later in 2001 and 2004.

Nepal parliament had elected Deuba as new prime minister yesterday. 388 members voted in favour of Deuba and 170 against the motion. Out of total total 593 member 558 took part in the voting.

Election for new prime minister was held due to resignation by the CPN (Maoist Centre) Chief Pushpa Kamal Dahal from the post of prime minister. Dahal had resigned on May 24 as per the power sharing understanding with the coalition partner Nepali Congress.