Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) ends Chamling’s 25-year rule in Sikkim


File Photo: Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM)

File Photo: Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM)

The result on the lone Lok Sabha constituency in Sikkim went on a predictable line with Indra Hang Subba of the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) winning the seat. Over the past four decades, voters of Sikkim have traditionally sent the state’s ruling party candidate to the Lok Sabha, and this time too they did not make an exception.

The SKM has won the assembly polls with a slender majority — winning 17 seats against SDF’s 15. SKM’s Subba polled 1,54,999 votes, defeating his nearest rival D B Katwal of the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) by over 11,000 votes. Katwal bagged 1,43,414 votes. There were 11 candidates in the fray on the seat.

The counting of votes on the 32 seats concluded late Thursday night.

The SKM is likely to convene a parliamentary board meeting Friday to elect its chief ministerial candidate, a party leader said. The SKM’s Women Front General Secretary Pabitra Bhandari told PTI that the party cadre would like PS Golay to become the next chief minister. “It is the general wish of the party cadre that Golay himself lead the next government as he took the nascent party to an electoral victory in Sikkim after a prolonged struggle for more than five years,” she said.

Meanwhile, the SKM cadres burst firecrackers at various places in Sikkim and raised slogans to celebrate an unlikely victory of the party. They also took out a victory procession in the state capital to mark the historic occasion. The SDF has accepted the verdict.