Speak in Hindi in RS without fear of mistakes, Chairman asks MPs

RSTV Bureau
File photo of Vice President, M. Venkaiah Naidu.

File photo of Vice President, M. Venkaiah Naidu.

Expressing concern that Hindi Salahkar Samiti of Rajya Sabha has not met for last three and a half years, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu has directed that two meetings of this important committee shall be mandatorily held every year.

Chairman Naidu also urged the Rajya Sabha MPs, hailing from non-Hindi speaking areas, to speak in Hindi if they chose to do so without the fear of grammatical mistakes.

Referring to his own experience, he recalled that he did not know Hindi when he first came to Delhi but soon picked up the language by speaking without any hesitation. He further said “King can do no wrong. You are Members of Parliament and can speak freely without the fear of committing mistakes.”

The best way of propagating Hindi is encouraging its use instead of forcing others to adopt it, the Chairman said, adding further that knowing different languages is advantageous.

He also urged North Indians to learn any South Indian language of their choice as it would promote national unity and integration. Chairman Naidu underscored the need to be proficient in mother tongue first as it would enable learning other languages easily.

He also sought for simple translation of business related matters into Hindi so that more and more MPs are encouraged to use it as well as urged the need for adopting widely popular words from other languages in Hindi for its easy acceptance.

However, during the discussion non-Hindi speaking Members called for permitting them to make grammatical corrections in their printed Hindi speeches so that they could speak without the fear of committing mistakes which in turn would be on record. They also made various suggestions including simple translation, filling up posts required for increased use of Hindi etc.

The last meeting of the Hindi Salahkar Samiti of Rajya Sabha was held in December, 2014. Soon after assuming the office of Chairman, Venkaiah Naidu reconstituted the committee and convened its first meeting on Tuesday.

He directed to convene the next meeting of the committee during the coming Monsoon Session of the Parliament.

Besides Deputy Chairperson Prof. PJ Kurien, MPs — Satyanarayan Jatiya, Harivansh, Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, K Keshav Rao, Prabhat Jha, Ravi Prakash Verma, Prasanna Acharya and Jharna Das Baid attended the meeting of the Committee.