Speaker admits Oppn’s notice moving no-confidence motion

RSTV Bureau
File Photo: Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

File Photo: Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Wednesday admitted the notice to move a no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government. Several notices moving no-confidence against the centre were moved by the opposition parties on the eve of the beginning of monsoon session on Tuesday.

The Speaker has decided to hold the discussion on no-confidence motion on Friday this week. The motion entails discussion by the members and the voting following it.

“More than 50 members are supporting the motion, so the leave is granted (to bring in no-confidence motion),” Mahajan said earlier in the day, accepting the notice.

The Speaker named all opposition members who had moved similar no-confidence motion notices and said TDP’s Kesineni Srinivas would move his motion as his name had come up in the lottery.

The member of the TDP, which had quit the ruling NDA coalition in March protesting against the government not giving a special package to Andhra Pradesh, moved the motion during Zero Hour which was admitted by the Speaker.

Reacting to the development in the house, Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar said the government was ready to face the no-confidence motion and win it as it enjoyed a two-third majority in the House.

The TDP and other opposition members had moved a no-confidence motion during the Budget session of Parliament also. But it was rejected by the Speaker on the ground that the House was not in order as there were continuous protests in the Well by different political parties on various issues.

(With inputs from PTI)