Spl courts to try MPs, MLAs to cost govt Rs 8 Cr per year

RSTV Bureau


The Centre has released a fresh tranche of funds for 11 states to run special courts to conduct the proceedings of over 1,500 cases related to lawmakers. The Department of Justice in the Law Ministry has released an installment of Rs 1.79 crore for the 12 special courts being run to try cases related to MPs and MLAs.

It will cost the government nearly Rs 8 crore annually to run these 12 special courts.

Subsequent instalments would be released only after the states provide utilisation certificates to the department of justice, sources in the government said.

Special courts are functional in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. While Delhi has two such courts, the rest of the states have one each.

Last November, the Supreme Court had directed the government to come up with a scheme to set up 12 special courts to try 1,581 criminal cases pending against elected MPs and MLAs.

The apex court had approved the scheme and had directed the Centre to allocate grants to the governments in the states where such special courts are proposed to be set up.

(With inputs from PTI)