Cabinet expansion: 4 new Cabinet ministers sworn-in

SansadTV Bureau


PM modi’s first cabinet took place on Sunday Manohar Parrikar ,Suresh Prabhu, J P Nadda and Birender Singh sworn-in as Cabinet ministers.

Bandaru Dattatreya, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Mahesh Sharma take oath as Ministers of State (Independent Charge).

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Ram Kripal Yadav, Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary, Sanwar Lal Jat and Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya sworn-in as Ministers of State.

Giriraj Singh, Hansraj Ahir, Ram Shankar Katheria, Y S Chowdary, Jayant Sinha, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Babul Supriyo, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti and Vijay Sampla take oath as Ministers of State.

Last-minute hitch prevents Shiv Sena MP Anil Desai from taking oath, say Sena sources.

Ahead of the Cabinet expansion and reshuffle of the Union Council of Ministers, Prime Minister Narendra Modi hosted a breakfast meet on Sunday for the new faces to be inducted in his Cabinet.

Manohar Parrikar, who is tipped to be the next Defence Minister, BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Olympian shooter-turned-politician Rajyavardhan Rathore and BJP MP from West Bengal Babul Supriyo are among those who attended the breakfast meet.

Around 20 new faces  inducted into the Union Council of Ministers in the first revamp exercise which brought in BJP leaders Parrikar, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Rudy and Bandaru Dattatreya.

Rathore, who is likely to be inducted in the Cabinet, said that the Prime Minister invited him for the breakfast.

“I am proud that he (Modi) has selected me. It is a great honour. With it comes greater responsibility… I have come here for responsibility,” he said.

Singh, who was elected from Jaipur Rural in Rajasthan, stressed that Modi expects performance.

“He just wants performance. Perhaps, by taking fresh faces, he is thinking of out-of-the-box ideas,” Singh said.

Hansraj Gangaram Ahir representing Chandrapur Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra and Ram Kripal, MP from Pataliputra in Bihar have also been invited for the breakfast.

The swearing-in of the new ministers  took place at 1.30 PM at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Five months after taking over, Modi is undertaking an expansion and reshuffle of his Cabinet in which Parrikar appears all set to get Defence portfolio which is now held as an additional charge by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.

An IIT-M alumnus, Parrikar will be the first Cabinet Minister from Goa and shares a good rapport with the Prime Minister.