Supreme Court names four member panel to run BCCI

SansadTV Bureau
File photo of Supreme Court of India.

File photo of Supreme Court of India.

On Monday, the Supreme Court appointed a four-member committee of administrators headed by former Comptroller and Auditor General of India Vinod Rai to run the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) and implement the reforms made by the Lodha panel.

Apart from Vinod Rai, cricket historian Ramachandra Guha, Vikram Limaye, the Managing Director of Infrastructure Development Fiance Company (IDFC) and former Indian women cricket captain Diana Edulji are part of the panel. The four-member panel will interact with Rahul Johri, the CEO of BCCI, for supervision and functioning of the cricket board.

The bench headed by Justice Dipak Misra also named cricket administrators Amitabh Chaudhary and Anirudh Chaudhary of BCCI along with Vikram Limaye to represent the Indian cricket board in the upcoming ICC meet which begins on February 2.

While naming the four members for the committee of administrators (COA), the bench, which also comprised Justices A M Khanwilkar and D Y Chandrachud, rejected the suggestion of Attorney General Mukul Rohatgi to appoint Secretary of Union Sports Ministry as one of the administrators. The bench cited its July 18, 2016 judgement, which had specifically debarred ministers and government servants from holding any office in the BCCI.

The bench also made it clear that the BCCI CEO would report to this AOA and, with the assistance of the counsel of the Board, apprise the administrators about the implementation of the Lodha panel recommendations accepted by the apex court.

The COA will place before the apex court within four weeks from today the report about the recommendations for reforms in the cricket body complied with by BCCI, it said.

The list of names, from which the names for the COA were shortlisted, were placed in sealed envelopes by senior advocates and amicus curiae, Anil Divan and Gopal Subramaniam, and Kapil Sibal, who represented some state cricket associations including Himachal Pradesh.

Senior advocate Arvind Datar, representing BCCI, had given the list names for selecting representative for the ICC meeting being held between February 2 to 4.

(With inputs from PTI)