TDP announces to pull out ministers from Centre

RSTV Bureau
File photo of Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu.  Photo - PTI

File photo of Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu.
Photo – PTI

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has announced to pull out it’s ministers from the central government over the issue of Andhra Pradesh special package. Though, it is yet to formally part ways with the BJP-led NDA at the Centre, two of its ministers Ashok Gajapath Raju and YS Chowdary will be resigning on Thursday morning.

The announcement, tipped for a while, was made by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu in a late night briefing on Wednesday.

Chandrababu Naidu expressed displeasure over Centre not ready to concede the state’s demands, particularly the grant of special category status and bridging the revenue deficit (for 2014-15 fiscal).

He, however, refrained from announcing the complete withdrawal from the NDA fold.

Earlier in the day, he indicated that his party will take a “right decision at the right time.

The Telagu Desam Party (TDP) has been agitating in both the houses of Parliament over the issue of financial aid to the state, which was promised at the time of its bifurcation in 2014.

“I know what is in your hearts and also the people’s hearts. There is no compromise in protecting the state’s interests. Let us bear whatever difficulty, but we will take a right decision at the right time,” Naidu had said earlier on Wednesday addressing his party MPs through a teleconference.

They are pressing for three things – the grant of special category status, extension of industrial incentives on par with 11 other states and bridging of revenue deficit for 2014-15.

The Centre, however, said it is “committed” to give the funding equivalent to special category states to Andhra Pradesh.

On the issue of special status, which TDP has been demanding, Union Finance minister Arun Jaitley said, “Special category status existed when Andhra Pradesh bifurcation took place, but the 14th Finance Commission abolished that concept”.

In a related development, the Andhra Pradesh unit of BJP has also decided to pull out its ministers from the state government.