Telangana gets 21 new districts on Dussehra

RSTV Bureau
K Chandra Shekhar Rao, Chief Minister Telangana

K Chandra Shekhar Rao, Chief Minister Telangana

As many as 21 new districts come into existence in Telangana on the auspicious occasion of Vijaya Dasami on Tuesday.

With these, the total number of districts in the state have gone up to 31.

Telangana, which came into existence on June 2, 2014 as the 29th State of India, started out with 10 districts.

The reorganisation of districts has been taken up for better administration, Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has said.

The administration should have up to date information on the districts and their residents over the implementation of various Government programmes as the total population in each of them would only be in lakhs, he said.

The inauguration of the new districts would be a grand event tomorrow with the Assembly Speaker, ministers and other government functionaries attending the events in each of them.

Rao would attend the inauguration of Siddipet district, carved out of Medak, his home turf, according to the list of VIPs proposed for inauguration of new districts provided by the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) in a release.

The new districts are Siddipet, Jangaon, Jayashankar, Jagtial, Warangal (Rural), Yadadri, Peddapally, Kamareddy, Medak, Mancheriyal, Vikarabad, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem, Nirmal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Mahabubabad,
Jogulamba and Medchal/Malkajgiri, the CMO release said.