Three new Lok Sabha MPs take oath on Monday

RSTV Bureau
File Photo of Parliament Housing Building in New Delhi.

File Photo of Parliament Housing Building in New Delhi.

Three newly elected members of Lok Sabha took an oath or affirmation on Monday. Newly elected Congress MPs Karan Singh Yadav, Raghu Sharma had won bypolls from Alwar and Ajmer, respectively, while Sajda Ahmed had retained Uluberia constituency for TMC in West Bengal.

Last week, the Congress and TMC had swept the bypolls to three Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats in Rajasthan and West Bengal by impressive margins.

In Rajasthan bypolls, the Congress had Alwar and Ajmer parliamentary seats, which were held by the BJP. The bypolls were necessitated due to the demise of sitting BJP members.

In Alwar, the Congress won by nearly 2 lakh votes and in Ajmer, the Congress candidate defeated his BJP rival by Over 84,000 votes.

While in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress retained the Uluberia Lok Sabha seat. The bypolls were conducted after the death of sitting member Sultan Ahmed. TMC had fielded his widow Sajda Ahmed.

Post the oath-taking, the lower house was adjourned for the day observing tributes for the departed sitting MP Hukum Singh. The BJP MP from Kairana in Uttar Pradesh had passed away this Saturday.