As BJP breaks new ground in NE, PM Modi lauds Tripura win

SansadTV Bureau


Creating history in northeast, the BJP and its ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) swept Tripura assembly polls with 2/3rd majority. As per the latest official figures, the BJP alliance is set to win 43 seats in a 60-member house, while the Left front, which ruled the state for 25 years has folded to 16 seats.

This will be first ever BJP government in the north-eastern state, which for last two decades has been a Left bastion.

Lauding the historic victory, Prime Minister Modi tweeted, “The victory of @BJP4Tripura is not an ordinary electoral victory. This journey from ‘Shunya’ to ‘Shikhar’ has been made possible due to a solid development agenda and the strength of our organisation. I bow to every BJP Karyakarta for working assiduously on the ground for years”.

“The historic victory in Tripura is as much an ideological one. It is a win for democracy over brute force and intimidation. Today peace and non-violence has prevailed over fear. We will provide Tripura the good government that the state deserves,” he added.

The Prime Minister, who led BJP’s campaign in Tripura stressed that 2018 Tripura election will be remembered as an epoch-making one.

Another major development has been a complete decimation of Congress which till last election held sizable vote share in mid-30 per cent. The party failed to even open its account.

Election in 59 seats for the 60-member Assembly was held on February 18. Polling was countermanded in one seat due to the death of a CPI(M) candidate.

Chief Minister Manik Sarkar was leading over his nearest BJP rival Pratima Bhoumik by over 2,000 votes in Dhanpur constituency.

Meanwhile, BJP state president Biplab Kumar Deb and party MLA Sudip Roy Burman were leading in their respective seats of Banamlipur and Agartala.

(With inputs from PTI)