Narayansamy to be sworn in as Puducherry CM

Former Minister of State for Prime Minister’s Office and Senior Congress leader V Narayan Swamy has been chosen as the Chief Minister of Puducherry. The Congress-DMK alliance won 17 seats in the recent assembly elections. Of the 30 seats in the Assembly, Congress secured 15 seats and its ally DNK won 2 constituencies. Incumbent AINRC got 8 seats while AIADMK and Independent secured 5 seats.

The congress legislative party has met in Pondicherry on Saturday and finalised the decision to make Narayansamy as the Chief Minister of the Union Territory. A delegation All India Congress Committee (AICC) comprising former Delhi CM Sheila Dikshit and general secretary Mukul Wasnik was present in the CLP meet.

Narayanasamy represented as an MP, but did not contest in the polls held on May 16. Samy’s decision reported to have caused fissures in the party.

Congress state chief Namachivayam and former CM V Vaithilingam also tried their best to convince the high command but could not succeed.

Date for Samy’s swearing has not yet finalised as the UT is yet to get its newly appointed Lt Governor Kiran Bedi. BJP leader and former IPS officer Kiran Bedi, will be sworn in on May 29.

Lt Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Island, Lt Gen Ajay Singh was on additional charge of Puducherry since July 2014.