Vice President confers National Film Awards

RSTV Bureau
Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu (File Photo)

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu (File Photo)

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu is presenting Ntional Film Awards to the winners.

The annual National Film Awards ceremony is being held at Vigyan Bhawan.

Megastar Amitabh Bachchan is set to receive the Dadasaheb Phalke award.

Union Minister for Information & Broadcasting Prakash Javadekar is also attending the ceremony.

Traditionally, the National Awards are handed out to the winners by the President of India. According to sources, President Ram Nath Kovind will host a high tea for the winners later.

In 2018, President Kovind had presented only a handful sets of awards during the ceremony which was divided into two phases.

The first set of awards were conferred by Union Ministers Smriti Irani and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, while the President presented the second lot.

The winners of 66th National Film Awards were announced in August this year with Gujarati film “Hellaro” bagging the Best Film honour.

Vicky Kaushal and Ayushmann Khuranna jointly won the Best Actor trophy for their performances in “Uri: The Surgical Strike” and “Andhadhun”, respectively.

Keerthy Suresh won the Best Actress award for her role in Telugu movie “Mahanati”.

Aditya Dhar of “Uri” won the Best Director award.