Vice President Naidu presents PM Shram Awards

SansadTV Bureau
File photo of Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu. PTI

File photo of Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu.

Vice President Venkaiah Naidu presented the Prime Minister Shram Awards on Monday at the Plenary Hall of Vigyan Bhawan. 338 workers have been conferred with Prime Minister Shram Awards.

Union Minister of State (I/C) for Labour & Employment Santosh Kumar Gangwar was also present at the occasion.

Government of India has announced 194 ‘Prime Minister Shram Awards’ for the year 2011 to 2016 in four categories namely ‘Shram Ratna Award’, ‘Shram Bhushan Award’, ‘Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana’ and ‘Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards’ for the workers in the Public Sector Undertakings (PSU), Departmental Undertakings of the Central and the State Governments and Private Sector units employing 500 or more workers in recognition of their distinguished performance, innovative ability, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind

Other senior officials including Labour Secretaries, Labour Commissioners of all State Governments, Union Territory Administrations, several Central Ministries/Departments, as well as the families of the awardees were present.

The Prime Minister Shram Awards were instituted in the year 1985 to award distinguished performers of the work staff.