Vice President, PM Modi lead nation to pay tribute to martyrs of Parl attack

SansadTV Bureau

Vice President Venkaiah Naidu and PM ModiThe Vice-President of India and Chairman of Rajya Sabha, M. Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan led the nation today in paying tributes to the martyrs who laid down their lives while defending the Parliament from the terrorist attack on 13 December 2001. The family members of the martyrs were present on the occasion. Chairman Venkaiah Naidu also interacted with them and enquired about their well being.

Minister of Home Affairs Rajnath Singh, Minister of Finance and Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha, Arun Jaitley, Minister of External Affairs, Sushma Swaraj, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Narendra Singh Tomar, Minister of Law and Justice, Ravi Shankar Prasad, former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Harivansh, Amit Shah, MP (Rajya Sabha), Sonia Gandhi and Shri Rahul Gandhi, both members of Lok Sabha  also paid tributes.

Among others who paid tributes were several union ministers and a large number of Members of Parliament. The Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha, Desh Deepak Verma  and Secretary-General,  Lok Sabha, Snehlata Shrivastava also paid tributes.

 A blood donation camp was organised at Parliament House on the occasion by the Indian Red Cross Society, in which Members of Parliament and a large number of officers and staff of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha Secretariats donated blood.

It was on this day in the year 2001, that nine persons namely,  Jagdish Prasad Yadav and Matbar Singh Negi, both Security Assistants of Rajya Sabha Secretariat; Kamlesh Kumari, Constable, CRPF; Nanak Chand and Rampal, Assistant Sub-Inspectors, Delhi Police; Om Prakash, Bijender Singh and Shri Ghanshyam, Head Constables, Delhi Police; and Deshraj, Gardener, CPWD, had sacrificed their lives while defending the Parliament against the terrorist attack.