Victorious BJP to pick its UP Chief Minister today

SansadTV Bureau
New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi being garlanded at BJP's National Executive Meeting in New Delhi, Jan 6, 2017. Photo - PTI

Photo – PTI

The BJP will hold the legislature party meeting of its newly elected MLAs in Uttar Pradesh today to elect the new chief minister of the state. BJP, which got a massive mandate in Uttar Pradesh scoring more than 3/4th out of 403 seats, is learnt to have zeroed in on the list of probables.

There are speculations over few names, including the ministers in the central cabinet, besides some of the elected legislators.

According to media reports, senior BJP leader and Union minister Manoj Sinha is the front runner for the post of Chief Minister in the state. Although Sinha, who represents the Ghazipur seat in the Lok Sabha has denied knowledge of the development so far.

Speculation has also focused on union ministers Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Mahesh Sharma and Kalraj Mishra for the Chief Minister’s post.

The meeting to pick Chief Minister is scheduled to take place at 5 pm in Lucknow. Party’s central observers, Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu and national general secretary Bhupendra Yadav will also be present at the meeting.

Winning 312 seats, BJP returned to power in India’s most politically crucial state after 14 years. It also bettered it previous tally of 221 scored in early 90s.

The oath taking ceremony for in UP is scheduled to take place on Sunday and all BJP national leaders including PM Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah are to attend the ceremony.