Voting ends, Haryana creates History

SansadTV Bureau

voting_electionHigh turnout was stated from most areas in Maharashtra and Haryana as voting ended on Wednesday evening. History was created in Haryana as over 73 per cent of the 1.63 crore eligible voters exercised their franchise, surpassing the previous high of 72.65 per cent in 1967.

Maharashtra was not distant behind where more than 60 per cent voter turnout was seen.

“More than 73 per cent voters had cast their votes. However, the final percentage figure was likely to go up as voters were still inside polling stations and all figures were being compiled,” Haryana’s Chief Electoral Officer, Shrikant Walgad told.

After Lok Sabha elections, it was a high voltage election where top political contenders are fighting for electoral margins.

The states are high for political parties involved: BJP, Congress, NCP, Shiv Sena, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD). These elections will determine  whether ‘Modi effect’ would continue with it’s magic or  fade away. Polling will be for 288 Maharashtra Assembly as well as 90 Haryana assembly seats.

These elections results matter a lot for the BJP who had suffered a successive defeat in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar by polls.

For the Congress, it is a decisive election to regain its trust among the voters after the Lok Sabha polls landslide defeat which put the Congress electoral graph to 44 parliamentary seats.

In this assembly polls, Maharashtra received great attention and importance because after the political divorce between BJP-Shiv Sena, Cong-NCP, all the political parties decided to contest elections separately this time. The good will of the top political parties especially the BJP will be tested in this elections.

Among others, the prominent candidates in the fray in Maharashtra includes former Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan, former Deputy CM Ajit Pawar, state BJP President Devendra Fadnavis and Leader of Opposition in Assembly Eknath Khadse.

Congress has fielded the largest number of 287 candidates; BJP has put up 280, Shiv Sena 282, NCP 278 and MNS 219.

In Haryana too, the BJP is contesting elections solo with PM Narendra Modi as the star campaigner.

There is a triangular fight in Haryana between the Congress, BJP and INLD.

The main contestants in the poll arena of Haryana includes top guns like Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Randeep Surjewala (Congress), former Chief Minister Om Parkash Chautala’s son Abhay, daughter-in-law Naina and grandson Dushyant (INLD), former Union Minister Venod Sharma and his wife Shakti Rani (HJCP-V), former MP Kuldeep Bishnoi, his wife Renuka and elder brother former Deputy Chief Minister Chander Mohan (HJC-BL).

Other main candidates include Haryana BJP President Ram Bilas Sharma and Abhimanyu (BJP), Arvind Sharma (BSP) and Gopal Kanda (HLP), who was booked in the Geetika Sharma suicide case.

The sealed results will be declared on Sunday this October which would decide the political fate in the two states.