WB: Congress and CPI (M) juggle seat sharing formula

SansadTV Bureau

Left Front Chairman and CPI (M) Politburo member Biman Bose announcing left parties candidates list

Faced with seat sharing issues, Congress and CPI(M) trouble-shooters manage to tie knot in the upcoming elections in West Bengal.

Both the party seniors termed seat sharing trouble as an “unfolding story” and said ‘they were hopeful of defusing the situation within the next few days.’

84 candidate-lists was announced by the Front on Thursday contained names of 11 seats that had already been announced by Congress.

“It is an unfolding story. You have to wait for some time more to get a complete picture. We are hopeful of an outcome in the next few days,” CPI(M) politburo member Mohammed Salim said.

Another CPI(M) leader, who did not wish to be named said, “Talks are on with Congress’ state and central leadership. We are very much hopeful that the situation will be neutralised within next few days. We all need to walk an extra mile and be more flexible in order to respect the aspirations of the masses.”

Left Front Chairman Biman Bose said talks are still on and he hoped that a solution would be worked out.

“Talks are on and we are hopeful that we will not let the anti-TMC votes split. Trinamool Congress, BJP and many other entities don’t want this alliance to take shape,” a senior Congress leader privy to the seat adjustment talks said.

State Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury last night had said his party was “sincere” about a tie-up with the Left but is ready for a three-cornered contest if such situation arises.

The Left Front had announced their first list of 116 candidates on March 7 and Congress had come out with their list of 75 candidates on March 8.

Elections in West Bengal are scheduled to begin from April 4 and will be held in six phases.

Taking note of Left wing extremist activities in parts of Bengal, the state election commission is making elaborate security measures for the upcoming polls. Counting of votes will be held on May 19.